PWA, AndroidX и LauncherActivity not found

Progressive web applications have great potential in the world of mobile development. This technology is still developing, but I, as a WEB developer, believe that the future of this technology is very powerful 🙂

Recently I wanted to pack one of the PWA applications into a native android application, but I faced with an error “android.support.customtabs.trusted.LauncherActivity not found”. I spent a lot of time looking for the cause of this problem – Google did not help me. But in the end, my perseverance had helped 🙂

AndroidX is a kind of library which purpose is in improving life for Android developers. It contains libraries that start with support. I’m pretty bad at Android development (for now) and I couldn’t immediately understand that this is the case. I just did everything according to the instructions from the Habr – https://habr.com/en/post/439238/

But as we know, the devil is in the details – there was an option in the instructions from Habr to create a project without AndroidX, but I didn’t have this option in the last version 🙂

There is simply no way to uncheck the box “Use AndroidX artifacts”. It turned out that you can solve this problem after you have created the project just by fixing gradle.properties.

Both android.useAndroidX and android.enableJetifier had to be set to false. After that, click on sync project so that the IDE downloads all the dependencies and you can continue to work 🙂

But I didn’t achieve my goal – on my samsung s8 the browser strip was still there, so PWA, so far, is not for phones like mine and, therefore, not for the general public – there can be many such phones where PWA does not work correctly.

You may also like...

PWA, AndroidX и LauncherActivity not found

Прогрессивные веб приложения, своей идеей, открывают большие возможности в мире мобильной разработки. Данная технология только начинает набирать обороты, но я, как WEB разработчик, верю, что будущее у этой технологии очень мощное:)

Недавно хотел запаковать одно из PWA приложений в нативное android приложение, но столкнулся с проблемой – ошибка “android.support.customtabs.trusted.LauncherActivity not found”. Я потратил много времени на поиск причины этой проблемы – гугл мне не помогал. Но в итоге помогло упорство)

AndroidX – это своего рода библиотека, направленная на улучшение жизни для Android разработчиков. Она содержит в себе библиотеки, который начинаются с support. Я довольно плох в Android разработке (пока что) и я не смог сходу понять, что дело в этом. Я лишь делал все по инструкции с хабра – https://habr.com/ru/post/439238/

Но дьявол, как обычно, кроется в деталях – в инструкции была возможность создать проект без AndroidX, а вот у меня, в последней версии, нет:)

Пример с хабра

Попросту нет возможности снять галочку на против “Use AndroidX artifacts”. Оказалось, что решить эту проблему можно уже после создания проекта – поправить gradle.properties

Оба значения android.useAndroidX и android.enableJetifier нужно было поставить в false. После этого нажать на sync project, чтобы IDE загрузила все зависимости и можно работать дальше:)

Но своей цели я так и не добился – на моем samsung s8 все равно предательски осталась полоска от браузера, так что PWA, пока что, не для телефонов вроде моего и, следовательно, не для широкой публики – ведь может быть много таких телефонов, где PWA работает не до конца корректно