Smart Party in Izhevsk

When I was at BIF2019, I decided to go to Alexander Makarov’s blog to read the news and saw that on October 19 he would be speaking at the uic.dev conference in Izhevsk. I followed a link and, to my delight, discovered a free slot for the speaker there right after Sasha. Without thinking twice, I submitted my new report about the experience of developing PWA.

The banner of the event

A week later, they informed me that my report was approved. It made me extremely happy 🙂 Before Izhevsk, I went to Stachka in Innopolis and speak there about the transition from PHP to GoLang. After the Stachka, I began to prepare really intensively for the report in Izhevsk – it was the effect of following the speeches for two days off in a row.

Road to Izhevsk

Since Izhevsk is in the zone of accessibility for the train (16 hours drive) and even two-story trains, which are new to me, go there, I went by train. There was wi-fi on this train, but the laws of the universe cannot be fooled. When there was no mobile network around, there was no wi-fi on the train. Therefore, until the end of the Moscow Region it was possible to work, and after that only Telegram prohibited by Federal Service for Supervision in the Sphere of Telecom, Information Technologies and Mass Communications worked 🙂

The weather in Izhevsk met me with cold when I arrived. When I left Moscow, the temperature outside was 15 degrees. In Izhevsk it was 0 degrees. Such a sharp contrast in the morning does not leave anyone indifferent. Thank God I had warm jacket, hat and gloves. Having warmed up, I got in a taxi and went to IzhHotel. It happened so that while I was in Izhevsk there was always cloudy weather. This did not add joy and the impression was that the city itself was very gloomy, although I understand that it is subjective.

I am always interested in the transport issue in the cities I visit. Izhevsk is no exception. There is an airport in Izhevsk, but there are very few flights from there, and mainly to Moscow and St. Petersburg. Not far (190km) from Izhevsk there is Naberezhnye Chelny airport, from where there are already much more flights and therefore locals often fly from this airport and there is a way to get to the Chelny. This leads to the fact that when searching for flights from Izhevsk, for example, to Minsk, you can see 2 changes, where the first change is a bus from Izhevsk airport to Naberezhnye Chelny, and is indicated as “departure and arrival flight”.

Change in Naberezhnye Chelny

When I got to IzHotel, I quickly cleaned myself up and went to the conference room with another speaker, Vlad, who read about the hodgie code and how to live with it. The conference itself was held in a bar cluster and there was three rooms – a room for each section. I immediately went to the hall where I will perform and traditionally met Sasha Makarov there 🙂 It is already a habit to meet him in Novosibirsk, Belgorod, Innopolis and, now, in Izhevsk. And although it seems we agreed with him that this year our events will no longer overlap, but who knows)

Traditional selfie with twitter.com/sam_dark

The conference itself

I came just in the middle of the report about what and how the open source lives, namely, Linux and other systems based on it. After listening to the report, we went to dinner 🙂 The food system at this conference was built as follows – everything went in the bar cluster and each participant and speaker was allocated a deposit of 1000 rubles, which we could spend on any product in several places inside this building. I am not a fan of Asian cuisine but this time I liked everything I ordered – and rolls and wok and another wok)

After lunch, Sasha spoke about package metrics (supplement of the report in Belgorod) and, right after him, it was time for my report. This time I talked about Progressive Web Applications (PWA). A little explanation – PWA is a technology that allows you to make a mobile application out of a web application with minimal cost and using only web technologies. We at wormsoft.ru are trying to actively use this technology and have already concluded that it replaces conventional applications in very rare cases. Actually, I talked about the features of working with PWA. And I can say that the report turned out to be quite successful – the questions were very interesting, and this is a good feedback.

After speaking, I went to a talk about animations and asked the speaker urgent questions about a project with animations that we are currently working on for our client. Well, after this report there was one report for all sections – about supercomputers from the famous scientist Nikolai Nepeyvod. I understood little from this report, except that we are quite far behind other countries in the field of supercomputers. But I thought that php, js and golang are working on regular computers, so I’m not doomed 🙂

But right after the final report, everything went dark and began to get dark in my eyes – a lack of sleep over the past week affected. The organizers staged an intellectual quiz “What? Where? When?”. In a spontaneous way, we formed a team and our team won in a 3-round competition of 8 questions in each round.

The team of winners of the “What? Where? When?” game

Honestly, I really overslept about 5-7 questions. I managed to quickly wake up after the photos in the photo booth and a dose of fresh air.

Photos from photobooth

Our winning ensemble went to “Two meat grinders”, where we got a spontaneous afterparty, where we managed to have a good time 🙂 We also had Grigory Kogan, the founder of picom. Picom organized the entire conference. And turning to feedback on the conference itself, I can say a big thank you to the organizers for the work done – the whole conference was held in such a homely atmosphere that it seemed that I had known all these people for a long time. Such a feeling at events is very valuable both for speakers and participants. Thanks:)

All of the speakers of uic.dev

In summary

Things I liked:

  • Delicious food and a large selection of food. This is much more convenient than “take what they give and say thank you”
  • Very interesting reports that I managed to visit
  • Support for speakers at the high level
  • After the event, the organizers kindly sent me all the photos with me and a screenshot with feedback! It was infinitely convenient!

Things I didn’t like:

  • The plave is not very suitable for a conference. Although the name “Smart Party” appeared everywhere, so this moment I can’t really call a disadvantage
  • On the screen in my room, half of the presentation went beyond the screen and was not visible

You may also like...

Умная вечеринка в Ижевске

Когда я был на БИФ2019 я решил зайти на блог Александра Макарова прочитать новости и увидел, что 19 октября он будет выступать на новой для меня конференции uic.dev в Ижевске. Я зашел на сайт и, к радости для себя, обнаружил там свободный слот для спикера сразу же после Саши. Недолго думая я подал туда свой новый доклад про опыт разработки PWA.

Баннер мероприятия

Спустя неделю мне сообщили, что мой доклад одобрен в программу, чему я был несказанно рад:) Перед Ижевском я съездил в Иннополис на Стачку и рассказал там про переход с PHP на GoLang. После Стачки начал очень плотно готовиться к докладу в Ижевске – сказывается следование выступлений в течение двух выходных подряд.

Дорога в Ижевск

Поскольку Ижевск находится в зоне доступности для поезда (16 часов езды) да и ходят туда, новые для меня, двухэтажные поезда, то я поехал на поезде. В этом поезде был wi-fi, но законы мироздания не обманешь. Когда вокруг не было никакой мобильной сети, то в поезде не было никакого wi-fi. Поэтому до конца Московской области можно было очень даже хорошо работать, а потом уже работал только заблокированный РКН Telegram:)

Местная погода, по приезду в Ижевск, встретила меня очень холодно. Когда я выезжал из Москвы, на улице было 15 градусов. В Ижевске – 0. Такой резкий контраст с утра не оставляет равнодушным. Благо с собой была теплая кофта, шапка и перчатки. Утеплившись, я сел в такси и поехал в ИжОтель. Так совпало, что, пока я был в Ижевске, там всегда была пасмурная погода. Радости это не добавляло и складывалось впечатление что город сам по себе очень мрачный, хотя я понимаю, что это субъективно.

Мне всегда интересен транспортный вопрос в городах, которые я посещаю. Ижевск не исключение. В Ижевске есть аэропорт, но рейсов оттуда летает крайне мало и, в основном, в Москву и Санкт-Петербург. Недалеко (190км) от Ижевска есть аэропорт Набережные Челны, откуда уже гораздо больше рейсов и поэтому местные жители, зачастую, летают из этого аэропорта, а в Ижевском аэропорту отлажен функционал доставки до аэропорта в Челны. Что приводит к тому, что при поиске рейсов из Ижевска, например, в Минск можно увидеть 2 пересадки, где первая пересадка – автобус из Ижевского аэропорта в Набережные Челны, а указывается как “рейс с вылетом и прилетом”

Пересадка в Набережных Челнах

Добравшись до ИжОтеля, я оперативно привел себя в порядок и отправился на конфу вместе с другим спикером Владом, который читал про говнокод, и как с ним жить. Сама конференция проходила в барном кластере и состояла из трех залов – по залу на каждую секцию. Я сразу же отправился в зал, где я буду выступать и встретил там, традиционно, Сашу Макарова:) Это уже входит в привычку встречать его в Новосибирске, Белгороде, Иннополисе и, теперь, в Ижевске. И хотя вроде мы с ним пришли к согласию, что в этом году наши мероприятия уже не пересекутся, но кто знает)

Традиционное селфи с twitter.com/sam_dark

Сама конференция

Подошел я как раз к середине доклада про то, чем и как живет опенсорс, а именно, линукс и другие системы, на его базе. Дослушав доклад, мы отправились на обед:) Система питания на этой конференции была построена следующим образом – все проходило в барном кластере и каждому участнику и спикеру был выделен депозит в размере 1000 рублей, который мы могли потратить на любую продукцию в нескольких заведениях внутри этого здания. Я не любитель азиатской кухни, но в этот раз мне понравилось все, что я заказал – и роллы и вок и еще один вок)

После обеда выступал Саша про пакетные метрики (дополнение доклада в Белгороде) и, сразу следом за ним настало время для моего доклада. В этот раз я рассказывал про прогрессивные вэб-приложения (PWA). Небольшой ликбез – PWA это технология, которая позволяет из web приложения сделать мобильное приложение с минимальными затратами и используя только web технологии. Мы, в wormsoft.ru, стараемся активно использовать эту технологию и уже пришли к тому, что она заменяет обычные приложения в очень редких случаях. Собственно, об особенностях работы с PWA я и рассказывал. И могу сказать, что доклад получился достаточно удачным – вопросы были очень интересные, а это хорошая обратная связь.

Выступив, я сходил на доклад про анимации и задал докладчику насущные вопросы по поводу проекта с анимацией, которым мы сейчас занимаемся для нашего клиента. Ну а после этого доклада был доклад один на все секции – про суперкомпьютеры от известного ученого Николая Непейвода. Я мало чего понял из этого доклада, кроме того, что мы довольно сильно отстаем от других стран в сфере суперкомпьютеров. Но я подумал, что php, js и golang работают и на обычных компьютерах, так что я не обречен:)

А вот сразу после финального доклада на улице резко потемнело и начало темнеть в моих глазах – сказалась нехватка сна за последнюю неделю. Организаторы устроили интеллектуальную викторину “Что? Где? Когда?”. Стихийным образом у нас образовалась команда и наша команда победила в 3х туровом состязании по 8 вопросов в каждом туре.

Победная команда в ЧГК

Честно скажу, что я примерно 5-7 вопросов по настоящему проспал. Удалось быстро проснуться после фотографий в фотобудке и получения дозы свежего воздуха.

Фотографии из фотобудки

Победным ансамблем мы отправились в “Две мясорубки”, где получилось стихийное афтепати, на котором нам удалось достаточно хорошо провести время:) С нами также был Григорий Коган – основатель компании picom, которая занималась организацией всей конференции. И, переходя к обратной связи по самой конференции, я могу сказать большое спасибо организаторам за проделанный труд – вся конференция прошла в такой домашней обстановке, что создавалось ощущения, что я знаю всех этих людей не первый день. Такое ощущение на мероприятиях является очень ценным как для спикеров, так и для участников. Спасибо:)

Все спикеры uic.dev

Подводя итоги

Что понравилось:

  • Вкусная еда и большой выбор еды. Это куда удобней чем “берите что дают и скажите спасибо”
  • Очень интересные доклады, на которых я успел побывать
  • Сопровождение спикеров на уровне
  • После мероприятия организаторы любезно прислали мне на почту все фотографии со мной и скриншот с отзывами! Это было бесконечно удобно!

Что не очень понравилось:

  • Площадка не очень подходит под конференцию. Хотя везде фигурировало название “Умная вечеринка”, так что этот момент не сильно походит на минус
  • На экране в моем зале половина презентации выходила за рамки экрана и ее не было видно